How to forget a Wi-Fi network on your iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, or Mac

Your Mac has a great feature that saves Wi-Fi networks that you’ve previously signed into, automatically joining the network whenever you’re in range of it. However, there are a few scenarios where this may be a burden.

Perhaps you have two networks at home or work, and now only want to use one of them on your Mac. Instead of having to check which one you’ve connected to every time you turn on your computer, you can remove the one you no longer want to use. 

Maybe the password has changed since you’ve last signed into a network and for some reason you’re not being automatically prompted to enter the new one. Forgetting the network will help solve that problem. 

Or, you could just want to tidy up the long list of saved networks you’ve accumulated over time.

If you don’t want your Apple device to automatically rejoin a network, you can make it forget that network.

Your Apple device remembers each Wi-Fi network that you joined on that device, and it automatically joins that network again whenever it’s in range. If you don’t want it to rejoin the network, or you want it to join with a different password, follow these steps to make your device forget that network and its password.
  

Forget a network on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch

  1. Go to Settings > Wi-Fi.
  2. Tap  next to the Wi-Fi network that you want your device to forget.
  3. Tap Forget This Network, then tap Forget to confirm.

Forget a network on your Mac

  1. Choose Apple menu  > System Preferences, then click Network.
  2. Select Wi-Fi in the list on the left.
  3. Click the Advanced button.
  4. The Wi-Fi pane shows a Preferred Networks list. Select the Wi-Fi network that you want your Mac to forget.
  5. Click the remove button (–) beneath the list. If you’re asked to confirm, click Remove.
  6. Click OK.
  7. Click Apply.

Share

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *