What happens when you block someone?

Here is a complete instruction to see what will happen if you block someone on different social media.

What happens when you block someone on Instagram?

Please update your Instagram app to the latest version to have the most up-to-date experience for blocking.

When you block someone, that person won’t be able to find your profile, posts or story on Instagram. People aren’t notified when you block them.

Likes and comments

  • After you block someone, their likes and comments will be removed from your photos and videos. Unblocking someone won’t restore their previous likes and comments.
  • People that you block can still see your likes and comments on posts that were shared by public accounts or accounts they follow.

Mentions and tags

  • After you block someone, they won’t be able to mention your username or tag you.
  • If you block someone and then change your username, they won’t be able to mention or tag you unless they know your new username.

Direct

  • After you block someone, your messaging threads with them will remain in your Direct inbox, but you won’t be able to message them.
  • If you’re in a group message with someone you’ve blocked, you’ll get a dialog asking whether you want to stay in the group or leave. If you choose to stay in the group, you’ll be able to see messages from the person you blocked in the group.
  • If the person you blocked sends you any messages in Direct, you won’t receive those messages, and they won’t be delivered later if you unblock them.
  • After you block someone, they won’t be able to join a room you create if they’re logged in to their Instagram account.

If you don’t want to block someone, you can remove them as a follower or block them from commenting on your photos and videos.

If you no longer want to block someone, you can unblock them.

What happens when you block someone on Snapchat

There are countless reasons to block someone on Snapchat — they flood you with selfies, they’re your ex, they insist on using the same played-out filters again and again — but the best reason of all might be you just feel like it. Remember, this friend is competing with Kim Kardashian for your attention on the app, and no one is going to judge you if you go with Kim.

So if you’re ready to stop subjecting yourself to your friend going full Animorph, we’re here to tell you exactly how to block somebody on Snapchat and why that’s different from just removing them from your friends list.

Fundamentally, it’s pretty simple, but if there’s one thing social media is about, it’s overthinking trivial details.

How to block someone on Snapchat

To block someone on Snapchat, open a chat with your (former) friend. Tap the stack of three horizontal lines on the top left corner to open the menu. Now select “Block.” The chat will disappear and you’ll be freed from the tyranny of their terrible content. If you want to take less drastic measures, you can opt for just removing them from your list of friends by selecting “Remove Friend.”

What happens when you block someone on Snapchat

Once you block someone, they’ll no longer be able to view your story or snap/chat you. You’ll be removed from each other’s friends list, and your username will no longer be searchable. If you only “remove” them, they’ll still be able to see your public stories, whereas a block will totally prevent them from witnessing any inspired selfies.

How to tell if someone blocked you on Snapchat

You’re not going to be directly notified if someone blocks you. You might notice that you’re not seeing their stories anymore, are unable to find their username, and that they generally seem to have disappeared from the app. They might still show up in your chat history, but you’ll be unable to snap them. But that’s not enough to know for sure whether they’ve unfriended you or blocked you. That comes down to whether you know for sure that they have an active account and you’re not able to search their username.

Does blocking someone on Snapchat delete saved messages?

Your chat history with them will disappear on your phone, but it’ll still show up on your former-friend’s. So they’ll still be able to see any saved messages between you. You, however, won’t have access to those messages.

If you block someone on Snapchat will they know?

The short answer to this is no, for the reasons we talked about above. It’s possible that they’ll think you deleted your account, but if they see you snapping a friend of theirs, the jig, as the kids say, will be up.  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
Close