It was announced last month that Facebook would introduce a new feature called Vanish Mode in Messenger and Instagram. At first, Facebook only rolled out the feature to Messenger users in the US and a few other countries. However, Facebook has started rolling out the feature more broadly over the past few weeks. Sometimes a message is just spontaneous – something you want to say at the moment without worrying about it sticking around. Instagram users are now able to utilize Vanish Mode on Facebook as well. It’s a way for users to anonymously share things, such as silly or embarrassing details, and then forget about it immediately by erasing the entire chat conversation.
However, Vanish Mode doesn’t prevent your message from being sent by mistake, but it makes it less likely your message will be forwarded to others or discussed endlessly during this time. Additionally, your chat history will not contain these vanished messages.
You can activate the Vanish Mode by simply swiping up in the conversation they would like to send the pic or the post-cut outfit. In just a few seconds, the other person will see the message and you will be able to discuss that secret. At this point, you will be able to swipe up again to exit vanish mode and return to the existing chat head. The Vanish Mode also destroys any pictures, messages, or GIFs you have shared previously.
As part of the feature, Facebook also claims to have accounted for security measures. We needn’t explain that this mode can only be used with chats connected to you. Furthermore, you can choose whether or not you wish to enter into vanish mode chat. “Your chat will notify you when someone takes a screenshot of it while you’re in vanish mode. And as always, if you feel unsafe in a conversation, you can report it and block the person,” the Vanish Mode is revealed in this blog post.
How to set up Vanish mode on Instagram
Step 1: On your mobile device, open the Instagram app.
Step 2: To begin, tap the ‘direct or messenger’ icon in the top right corner.
Step 3: You can enable vanish mode for any chat window you choose.
Step 4: You can enable vanish mode by either A. swiping up from the bottom of the screen or B. Hitting Info in the top right-hand corner.
The read messages will be lost once you activate the Vanish mode. You can disable the vanish mode by opening the chat window for which the vanish mode has been enabled. To turn off vanish mode, swipe up from the bottom of the screen again or tap ‘turn off vanish mode’ at the top of the conversation window.
Note: Vanish mode will also be turned off when you leave the chat window if you exit the chat window.
1. When I send messages in vanish mode, do I receive notifications?
Yes, when in vanish mode, Instagram messages will appear in the message panel just like regular messages. To enter the same conversation in vanish mode, tap the notification.
2. Do you have the ability to retrieve vanish mode messages?
As soon as the conversation is closed or the messages are viewed in vanish mode, they disappear. The messages can’t be recovered. Remember that taking a screenshot or copying the messages is always an option.
3. What is vanish mode used for?
If you are in a chat with someone, you can use Vanish mode to send temporary messages. Once they are read, these messages will be gone forever. Sending quick messages this way keeps your regular chat free of clogs.
4. Is vanish mode available on Instagram for video and audio calls?
Unfortunately, there is no such service available for audio or video calls so the vanish mode can only be used to send direct messages.
5. When someone takes a screenshot of Instagram DM, can you tell?
A notification will be sent to you if someone takes a screenshot of your vanishing direct message (with vanish enabled). You are not notified when Instagram takes a screenshot when you send regular messages. Likewise, if a screenshot is taken of your story or post, you won’t be notified.
6. Does Instagram let anyone see when you are in vanish mode?
No, the other person can’t discover if you enable the Vanish Mode on Instagram. A screenshot of the messages would, however, notify the other person on the chat immediately if taken in disappearing mode.