Did you ever purchase a game you were looking forward to, only to discover that it wasn’t as good as you thought? Nothing is more frustrating than spending money on a game, then finding out it’s not that great. It used to be possible for players to share cartridges or discs to play games with their friends, but since the rise of digital games, sharing discs and cartridges isn’t as feasible as it used to be.

Even if you only own a digital copy, it’s still possible to share games with friends or to try out other people’s games. PlayStation 4 still allows you to game share with friends with a little extra effort. With this feature, you can share your PlayStation library of titles with family and friends, potentially saving you tons of money.

How to game share on PS4?

Game sharing on the PS4 is explained in this walk-through. The PlayStation store integration allows you and another person to connect your libraries of games purchased on the PlayStation store and to access them collectively with fewer restrictions. You will only need access to a friend’s PS4 and your main account information to complete this process.

Step 1: Log into your PlayStation Network account on your friend’s machine.

Step 2: From the PlayStation 4 main menu, select Settings.

Step 3: Select the Account Management option.

Step 4: Activate your PS4 as your primary console.

Step 5: Finally, click the Activate button. To do this, you may need to deactivate your PS4 console as the primary console. If you’re having trouble setting up your friend’s PS4 as your primary console, remember this.

From now on, you should be able to play your entire library of games on your friend’s console. It’s still necessary to download the games onto the PS4 hard drive, but this time you won’t need to sign back into your PlayStation account. To exchange access to your digital game library, have your friend or family member complete steps 1 through 4 on your PlayStation 4.

The following warnings and precautions are provided

You will have to restart the entire process if you ever want to make major changes to your PSN account or settings (for example, if you’re upgrading to a PS4 Pro). Furthermore, you’ll need to make sure the person with whom you shared your account terminates the device as your primary system. You won’t be able to use the game share feature if your console isn’t configured correctly.

 Considering this and the intimate nature of account sharing, we highly recommend that only family members and trustworthy friends share gaming accounts. You can go ahead and redo the above steps once your new console has been updated and is ready to go.

Additionally, you can deactivate a console remotely through the PlayStation account management tool. In a variety of unanticipated situations, you can use this tool from your browser. Please keep in mind, however, that this can only be done once every six months. Additionally, if you do not have access to your primary console, any other PS4 user sharing your account will not be able to access your game library. In addition, if your internet stops working for a few hours, you won’t be able to play PlayStation Plus games or access anything you’ve saved in the cloud.

There’s no limit to the number of people you can share your account with. However, there is one catch. One person can participate in this process (which allows two consoles to play the same game simultaneously) at a time. As a result, do not attempt to play a game with three others, as your primary account may be flagged or blocked immediately. Keep a careful eye on who can access your game files and library, and be cautious with how you share games and libraries.

How to Share Play on the PS4?

This is how you use the Share Play feature with a friend: 

Step 1: From the Invite Players screen, search for the friend you would like to start a party with or select them from your friends’ list. After selecting Send Invitation, follow the instructions.

Step 2: Open the game you want to play.

Step 3: On your Dual Shock 4 controller, press the share button.

Step 4: On your TV screen, select Share Play.

Step 5: Choose the friend you want to share your game with from your list. Following their acceptance of your invitation, your game systems will link and the 60-minute session will begin. When the session expires, you can immediately start another session and continue where you left off. 

If you both have microphones, the person you’re sharing Playing with will be able to see your screen as well as talk to you. You can also let your friend try out the game after you’ve been in a session together. To do so, follow these steps:

Step 1: On the controller, press the share button.

Step 2: Click Go to Party on the TV to play Share Play.

Step 3: Choose Give Controller to Visitor.

Step 4: Depending on the game, you can choose either Allow Visitor to Play as You or Play a Game Together (if it supports multiplayer). This will require a PlayStation Plus membership on the part of the host, but not the visitor. Both players need PlayStation Plus memberships to play co-op, but only one needs a copy of the game.

You can return to basic screen sharing by pressing the share button on your controller again, selecting Go to Party for Share Play, and then taking back your controller. Stopping Share Play is also achieved in this manner. 

Author

Write A Comment